Ansök nu

Skandinaviska Institutet

Louise, Karratha

What were your reasons for applying as an au pair?
I wanted to try something new and experience the lifestyle in another part of the word.

Tell us about your host family:
My host family is amazing. The family consist of the mother, her partner, and her five year old daughter. They make me feel like a family member, like a sister. They invite me to all family activities and I hang out with them on evenings and some weekends.  I feel completely comfortable around them and I’ll miss them so much when I leave.

Describe the area you live in:
I live in a remote town in the Pilbara, WA. The town is quite small, but here are plenty of other au pairs. We are around 25 girl and we have a good community and our own facebook group where we arrange playdates and other activities. The area where I live is pretty dry all year around, with very hot summer, (40-45C)

What does a typical day look like? 
On school days I go up around 7/7.30 and get the girl ready for school. Then I have time of until 2.30 when I pick her up. We go home and eat something, do homework, we play something or meet some friends. Then it’s time for a bath and dinner. I put her to bed at seven, and then I have the evening free to do as I please.

Tell us about any travelling you have done or are planning to do:
So far I have done some travelling to National Parks in the area. After my placement I plan to do a roadtrip to Darwin. And then to Bali for a few weeks with some friends I met here in AU. Then we will travel east cost, from Cairns to Sydney. I will also try to visit New Zeeland a few weeks when am in this part of the world. Before I return back to Sweden I will do a short trip to Fiji.

What have you gained during the year?
I have learned about Australiaand the relaxed Australian lifestyle. I have also gained heaps of knowledge about myself and grown as a person as I have met people from all over the world and  travelled outside my well known safety zone back home.

What has been the best experience so far?
To meet so many wonderful people from different countries and make so many new friends.

How have you been spending you pocket money?
My host family is paying for all my living expenses so I have saved my pocket money. And will spend it when I go travel next month!

What do/did you find most challenging about being an au pair?
It’s a bit challenging the first few weeks/the first month, to get used to a whole new lifestyle, because everything is different from home. They have different routines, different food, different humour. But I live with a wonderful family and the did everything to make me feel at home.

Write a short message to anyone thinking about joining Skandinaviska Institutet / AIFS.
Do it! You will never regret it!