Ansök nu

Skandinaviska Institutet

Nora, Peking

Ålder på barnet: 3 år
Har varit i Kina i: 7 veckor

What were your reasons for applying as an au pair?
I knew that I wanted to work with children but at the same time I wanted to discover other cultures, especially China.

Tell us about your host family!
My host family is really caring and makes sure that everything is as good as possible. Since the first day it feels like home. Since my host child is 3 years old no day is the same, there’s always something happening and I never get bored!

Describe the area you live in:
I live in a area that isn’t so central but close to a lot of things! There’s a mall across the road, 5 minutes walking to the subway and when you’re at the subway station you’re basically close to everything! Outside the apartment there’s a big and nice garden area and a playground where we can play on sunny days!

What does a typical day look like?
I get up at 7:30 and have breakfast and then we go to kindergarten, after that I got free time till 15. So during that free time I usually go to class, meet up with friend or go somewhere with my host mom and grandma. We go to pick up my host child at 15 and then we can go to the mall or the playground. When we get back home we eat dinner and play until it’s time to go to bed.

Tell us about any travelling you have done or are planning to do:
I’ve been to different sightseeing spots like the summer palace and lama temple with my friends and we are planning to go to the glass bridge in a week and in a few months collect our off days to go to shanghai for a few days. Otherwise I’ve been to Harbin with my host family and during the winter the got the snow and ice festival so I want to go there again too.

How have you been spending you pocket money?
I’ve spent most of my pocket money on entrances to different temples and parks and so on but also on warmer clothes now that it’s getting colder.

What do/did you find most challenging about being an au pair?
I think the most challenging for me is to adapt to the different moods of my host child. Because he’s so young it’s hard to control emotions so when something small happens the whole world is falling down and it can be a little challenging to deal with and the language barrier on top of that. But I feel like the more English he has learned the easier it gets since we can understand each other more.

Write a short message to applicants thinking about joining Au Pair in China.
I recommend joining Au Pair in China. I’ve been here for in a few days 8 weeks and already had a great experience. You’ll experience a new culture, learn a new language, meet and make friends with so many great people and grow as a person. There a lot of good things to gain if you join a program like this and that’s why I highly recommend it!